Spanish for Veterinarians, Spanish for People with Sick Puppies

I was tooling around in Washington University‘s library the other day to see what kind of Spanish trouble I could get myself into when I came across Bonnie Frederick and Juan Mosqueda’s book Spanish for Veterinarians: A Practical Introduction. Even though I’m not a veterinarian nor a veterinary science student–in fact, I don’t even have a pet right now–I somehow thought this would be a good book to check out and peruse at home. I mean, who doesn’t want to know how to say “to examine the wing” (examinar el ala) or “to vaccinate the puppies” (vacunar los perritos) en español?

vetspanish

Blackwell Publishing 2008

The book has a fun set-up. There are two chapters on verbs, a couple on general situations–that have great titles like “How Long Has the Cow Had a Fever?”, “The Past and Accidents,” and “Telling People What to Do”–, and several on particular animals (horses, cattle, dogs, cats, etc.). But basically the book throws a lot of vocabulary at you with just a little bit about grammar. The idea is that between listening for key words and saying ¡Hable más despacio, por favor!, a vet will be just fine to deal with Spanish-speaking clients. (Good luck with that, folks!) I suppose that if the book is used in tandem with Spanish-language courses things might go okay…until la fiebre de las Montañas Rocallosas (Rocky Mountain Fever) kicks in. ¡Aye!

rmf

For me, I was just looking for some fun new words, like la tortuga de caja (box turtle), las pulgas (fleas), and el alpiste (birdseed). I think I’ll leave things like transmissible canine venereal tumor (el tumor venéro transmisible), feline urological syndrome (el síndrome urológico felino) , and intervertebral disk disease (la enfermedad del disco intervertebral) to the professionals using this book. And perhaps I should go back to a plain old picture dictionary for the time being.

Some other good words found inside:

el ala : wing :: cola : tail :: cuerno : horn :: hocico : muzzle

pata : paw :: pico : beak :: la ubre : udder :: pezuña/casco : hoof

One response to “Spanish for Veterinarians, Spanish for People with Sick Puppies

  1. Pingback: The Chick that goes pío pío & other Animal Sounds in Spanish « The Spanish Dilettante

Leave a Reply

