¡Feliz Janucá! : Spanish Hanukkah vocabulary

I think non-Jews (like me) have a tendency to think Hanukkah is a more important holiday than it actually is, mostly because it falls so close to Christmas. However, it is festive and fun, and it’s going on right now. So what better reason is there to learn some new vocabulary in Spanish? ¡Vamos!

(There’s a good short description of the story of Hanukkah en español aquí and in English here.)

Festival of Lights : la fiesta de las luces

Greek kings : los reyes griegos :: Maccabees : los macabeos :: victory : la victoria

menorah : la menorá/la menorah :: candles : las velas

oil : el aceite :: eight days : ocho días

(“Ocho Kandelikas”/”Eight Little Candles” : Ladino Hanukkah song)

songs : las canciones :: games : los juegos

latke (potato pancake) : la latke (la tortilla de papas/patatas)

gelt (chocolate money) : el dinero de chocolate

sufganiot (jelly donut) : el buñuelo de jalea

dreidel : el dreidel (in Mexico, the Jewish community uses a toma todo)

La canción de dreidel
Tengo un pequeño dreidel que de barro fabriqué,
cuando esté seco y listo, puedo jugar con él.
Dreidel, dreidel, dreidel que de barro fabriqué,
dreidel, dreidel, dreidel con dreidel jugaré.

The Dreidel Song
I have a little dreidel. I made it out of clay.
When it’s dry and ready, then dreidel I shall play.
Oh dreidel, dreidel, dreidel, I made it out of clay.
Oh dreidel, dreidel, dreidel, then dreidel I shall play.

2 responses to “¡Feliz Janucá! : Spanish Hanukkah vocabulary

  1. Maria M. Pena Zamarron

    Wow muy interesante. Me encontre con tu website despues de que estaba investigando el apellido Zamarron. Dicen que viene de origen sephardic. Quiciera saber si talvez tengo un poco de sangre judia. Mi visabuelo se llamaba Jesus Zamarron y se fue de Espana a chihuahua, Mexico en los 1920’s. No sabemos mucho de el porque lo mataron a el y a mi visabuela cuando mi abuelo tenia 4 anios. No se si me pudieras ayudar a saber si venimos de sangre judia sephardic. Si sabe algo porfavor mandeme un e-mail. Gracias

Leave a Reply

