Quiero que me quieras : Spanish Present Subjunctive Help

Mis compañeros y yo started a long battle with the subjunctive mood yesterday. Luckily, the conjugation of the first form we’re using (present subjective) is pretty easy…even if its usage can boggle the mind of a native English speaker. During class, I couldn’t get Gael García Bernal’s cover of Cheap Trick’s “I Want You to Want Me” (“Quiero que me quieras”) from Rudo y Cursi out of my head. The chorus is filled with the present subjunctive.

Quiero que me quieras.
Quiero que me adores.
Quiero que me sientas.
Me urge que me ames.

Unfortunately, there’s not a lot of good resources on the internet to help the Spanish student with the present subjunctive, relative to all sites providing help with basic vocabulary and the indicative mood. But Jason Jolley does have a couple of great videos explaining its conjugation and use. The first video here is on the form; the second is on the usage.

There are also a couple of good sites that let you practice conjugating the form…

*Trinity’s test on conjugating verbs without a stem change.

*Trinity’s test on verbs with a stem change.

*Mix of both.

*This present subjunctive quiz allows you to pick which verbs and pronouns you want to use.

*Barbara Kuczun Nelson’s site has extensive resources, quizzes, and practice opportunities.

Leave a Reply

